The 5 Modes

Victim Mode

Some parts of the brain, the amygdala, for instance, are reactionary – the synapses fire in reaction to stimuli. This reaction has often been called the fight-or-flight reflex, and no thought is necessary for the brain to tell the body what to do. The goal is survival, and all living things seem to have some form of it.

In humans, this reflex is alive and well. When a threat is perceived, the amygdala shoots adrenaline into the system and pitches us into a reactionary state of fight-or-flight. In most cases the thinking part of the brain – the prefrontal cortex, then takes over, and we become analytical about the situation. Of course, analysis is easiest and most common once we have confirmed there is no physical danger.

We are then able to evaluate whether we need to look for non-physical dangers. Are we at risk emotionally? Professionally? Financially? Are any of these dangers inevitable?

We then begin to look for explanations. In retelling the story in our minds, we calculate motives, list pros and cons, assess our complex emotional responses, add in complications, and assign blame. (See the Emotions List for additional reactions.)

In the Victim Mode column of the Emotions List we see emotions of far more complexity than the simple fight-flight reactions. Many deal with the after-effects of losing. If we fight and don’t win, we might experience agony, hate, loneliness, or woe. If we run away and don’t escape, we might experience terror, revulsion, distress, or fury. If we do win but see our position as tenuous, we might experience malice, fanaticism, hate, or contempt.

Whatever the actual outcome, if we get stuck in any of the Victim Mode emotions, we personally have little or no power. Our emotional state has it all; we are helpless in respect to our emotions. These emotions are so strong, their energy so encompassing, to submit to them is the best we can do.

Let’s begin our exploration of Victim Mode by looking at its attributes:











Each Mode has a particular Hallmark by which we can recognize the Mode we happen to be operating from. We can identify Victim Mode by the Hallmark of helplessness. We enter this mode through the Gateway of fear, and the emotions of Victim Mode wrap us in belief that anything we want is impossible. Thus, the Outcome is suffering.

The four Lessons in this Victim Mode series open the door for other possibilities, and other outcomes. They explain how pain is a message and suffering is a story. You will discover powerful tools and techniques to escape the immobilizing influence of fear and any other emotions that sabotage you. You will gain the skills to escape such afflictive emotions.


Further Reading:  

How to do the Work: Recognize Your Patterns, Heal from Your Past, and Create Your Self, by Dr. Nicole Lepera

Relief from Suffering

Session 1

Nobody wants to be a victim (coming soon)

Session 2

The impact of fear (coming soon)

Session 3

Write a new story  (coming soon)

Session 4

The value of the incremental step (coming soon)